If I remember correctly, it's at financial update. You get the warning after a financial update and have until the next financial update to get above the -400,000 (I believe that's the number). After the next financial update, it will check again.
It doesn't matter what happens in between. I recall some teams in past who thought they were safe because they had gotten above the limit, then went bot when financial update happened.